Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

2019 World Press Photo Contest

The 62nd annual World Press Photo Contest opens submissions for 2019 and invites all professional photographers to participate with their work.

The annual photo contest rewards photographers for the best single exposure pictures contributing to the past year of visual journalism.

The winners of The World Press Photo of the Year and The World Press Photo Story of the Year awards will receive €10,000 each. This means all contest winners will share in prizes totaling more than €130,000 in value.

All nominees are brought to Amsterdam in April to receive their prize at the annual Awards Show. This takes place just before the World Press Photo Festival, an event to which winners are invited, featuring photographer presentations, screenings and talks.

The 2019 World Press Photo Contest includes the following categories:

  • Contemporary Issues – Single pictures or stories documenting cultural, political or social issues affecting individuals or societies.
  • Environment – Single pictures or stories documenting human impact, positive or negative, on the environment.
  • General News – Single pictures or stories reporting on news topics and their aftermaths.
  • Long­-Term Projects – A project on a single theme that has been shot over at least three different years.
  • Nature – Single pictures or stories showing flora, fauna and landscapes in their natural state.
  • Portraits – Single pictures or stories of individuals or groups either in observed or posed portraits.
  • Sports – Single pictures or stories that capture individual or team sports.
  • Spot News – Single pictures or stories witnessing news moments or immediate events.

Whether entered as singles or stories, these pictures are judged in terms of their accurate, fair, and visually compelling insights about our world.

The World Press Photo Contest began in 1955 and you can browse the entire collection of prize-winning photos in the timeline.