Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

4th International Holcim Awards Competition

The 4th cycle of the International Holcim Awards competition, offering a total of USD 2 million in prize money, is now open for entries!

The Holcim Awards is one of the most significant competitions in its field in terms of reputation and international scope.

The competition seeks leading projects from industry professionals and bold ideas from the “Next Generation” that contribute to sustainability within architecture, building, civil engineering, landscape and urban design, as well as construction materials and technologies.

The Holcim Awards (main category) is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders and construction firms that showcase sustainable responses to technological, environmental, socioeconomic and cultural issues with contemporary building and construction. Projects must have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, and may not have started construction before 1 July 2013.

The competition also seeks visionary projects and bold ideas for the “Next Generation” (young professionals and students category). All authors must be aged between 18 and 30 years of age: (date of birth between 2 July 1982 and 24 March 1996), and the project may not have started construction before 1 July 2013.

The competition is organized by the Swiss-based Holcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction and is conducted in parallel in five regions of the world in 2013/14 followed by a global phase in 2015. Regional winners will be announced at Holcim Awards ceremonies in late 2014 in Moscow (for region Europe), Toronto (North America), Medellín (Latin America), Beirut (Africa Middle East) and Jakarta (Asia Pacific).