Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Amnesty International Media Awards 2011

The Amnesty International Media Awards recognize excellence in human rights journalism that makes a significant contribution to the UK public’s understanding of human rights. They celebrate the breadth of reporting across different media and acknowledge the risks journalists take while reporting the stories that might otherwise remain untold.

This year Amnesty International is celebrating the twentieth anniversary of the Media Awards. Over the past two decades the awards have grown in prestige.

Entry for the Amnesty International Media Awards 2011 is now open and Amnesty International is offering a reduced entry fee for all submissions until 15 January 2011.


Entries for this year’s Amnesty International Media Awards must have been published or broadcast for the first time in the UK between 1 March 2010 and 28 February 2011.

The list of categories comprises:

  • Digital
  • Documentary and docudrama
  • Gaby Rado Memorial Award: for an up-and-coming journalist who has been covering human rights stories for less than five years
  • International TV and Radio
  • National Newspapers
  • Nations & Regions: print, broadcast or online media in Wales, Northern Ireland, Scotland and the English regions
  • Magazines (formerly Periodicals), two awards – Newspaper Supplements and Consumer Magazines
  • Photojournalism
  • Radio
  • Television news

Please visit the official website for detailed information about what kind of materials you should submit.

Included in the judging criteria:

  • quality of writing, filming or photography;
  • currency or news value;
  • accessibility or appropriateness for the target audience;
  • exposure of human rights abuses or bringing them to a new audience;
  • carrying forward the debate on human rights or highlighting new or emerging issues.

To help encourage a wide range of entries a sponsorship fund will support a limited number of entries from freelance journalists and filmmakers as well as small digital and broadcast outlets. Those interested should contact Amnesty for more information. If you would like to seek funding for your entry please go to the Sponsorship Fund section on the online form and state clearly why you need this support.


The winners of the Media Awards will be announced at a ceremony at London’s BFI on Thursday 24 May 2011. Winners will be announced in all official categories.


  • Entries must have been published or broadcast for the first time in the UK between 1 March 2010 and 28 February 2011.
  • Label each entry clearly, including title, duration, where it was published or transmitted, and date of publication/broadcast.

How to enter?

Entries are accepted online, through the entry form on the official website.

If you have any questions please contact the media awards team via media.awards [at] (please replace [at] with @).

Entry fee

  • Entry before 15 January 2011 costs £99 per entry, except Nations and Regions (no fee) and Photojournalism (no fee).
  • Entry after 15 January 2011 costs £130 per entry except nation and regions (£50) and photojournalism (no fee)