Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Full Frame Documentary Film Festival 2011

Full Frame exhibits nearly 100 documentary films in various categories. By completing the online application, you will be submitting to New Docs, the festival’s competitive program which includes films completed in the last two years.

In 2010, 60 films were selected for New Docs from 1200 entries. New Docs are eligible for a number of awards in various categories. The 2010 festival offered 8 awards, with prizes totaling over $50,000 in cash and services.

The 2011 festival will take place Thursday, 14 April, through Sunday, 17 April.


Submit short and feature documentary films to the competitive program of Full Frame 2011.

Full Frame distinguishes shorts and features as follows:

  • Shorts: less than 40 minutes
  • Features: 40 minutes or more, but no longer than 180 minutes


If your film is accepted it will be screened at the 2011 Full Frame Documentary Film Festival and it will compete for the festival’s awards and cash prizes.


  • Films completed after 1 January 2009 are eligible for Full Frame 2011.
  • Both preview screeners and exhibition prints must either be in English or have English subtitles.
  • If your film is accepted to screen at the festival, Full Frame will only screen the following exhibition formats: 35mm, BetaSP NTSC, Digibeta NTSC and HDCAM 1080i/60i.
  • Full Frame does not have specific premiere requirements. However, the Festival does take previous screenings and broadcasts into consideration when making its official selections, especially previous screenings in North Carolina. It is the filmmaker’s responsibility to notify Full Frame of any change in premiere status during the submission process.

How to enter?

All entries must be submitted via Withoutabox.

Entry fee

  • Regular deadline: 15 October 2010 – $40
  • Late deadline: 30 November 2010 – $60

These are both postmark deadlines; entries postmarked after 15 October, will be charged the late entry fee. Entry fees are non-refundable.