Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

IIDA 1st Annual Global Excellence Awards

The International Interior Design Association (IIDA), in cooperation with BMW Group DesignworksUSA, announces the premiere of the Global Excellence Awards, an international Interior Design Competition honoring the best in interior design projects from around the world.

This worldwide design competition has been established to highlight outstanding originality and excellence in the creation of international interior design/architecture projects.

The winners will be celebrated at a special presentation during Maison&Objet, January, 2011 in Paris, France.


The Global Excellence Awards – International Interior Design Competition is open for interior design projects located outside of the United States of America.

Projects can be submitted in the following categories:

  • Corporate Space Large (1,000 square meters and above)
  • Corporate Space Small (under 1,000 square meters)
  • Cultural/Institutional/Educational (Elementary/secondary educational facilities, colleges/universities, art museums, religious facilities, libraries)
  • Healthcare (Hospitals, medical facilities)
  • Hotels
  • Municipal/Public Spaces (Government spaces, sports arenas, casinos, entertainment/performing arts centers)
  • Residences (Private homes, embassies, consulates, assisted/senior living)
  • Restaurants (Restaurants, bars, lounges)
  • Retail (Stores, boutiques, showrooms)
  • Spas/Fitness/Wellness Centers

Entries will be judged on originality of design and appropriateness of the design solution and the successful integration of design elements. A prestigious, international panel of judges will select the winning design firms and their projects.


Winners will be awarded in each of ten distinct categories, as well as two Honorable Mention awards, and one Global Excellence “Best of Competition” winner will be selected to receive an original, one of a kind crystal award created by Swarovski.

The winners will be celebrated at a special presentation during Maison&Objet, January, 2011 in Paris, France.


  • Any interior designer, interior architect, or architect may submit design project(s) to the Global Excellence Awards.
  • The design project(s) must be located outside of the United States of America, however the design firm may be located anywhere (including the USA).
  • The design project(s) must have been completed after 1 January 2009.

How to enter?

To enter a project into the Global Excellence Awards competition, you first need to download the Call For Entry form to order an Entry Packet. Once you fill this out and send it back to IIDA with payment, IIDA will e-mail you the Entry Packet with all the rules and guidelines regarding how to submit your entry.

The deadline to request an Entry Packet: 5 November 2010 at 11:00pm GMT

Entry fee

  • $200 per entry
  • $150 per entry if submitting three (3) or more entries