Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Prix Ars Electronica 2010 – Digital Media Creativity Award

Since 1987, the Prix Ars Electronica has served as an interdisciplinary platform for everyone who uses the computer as a universal medium for implementing and designing their creative projects at the interface of art, technology and society.

The event calls for entries in seven categories, including a youth competition. And since internationally renowned artists from over 70 countries also participate in the Prix Ars Electronica, it has established itself as a barometer for trends in contemporary media art.

With 42.245 entries since 1987 and prize money in 2010 totalling 117,500 Euros, the competition offers the largest cash purse for cyberarts worldwide.


The Prix Ars Electronica calls for entries and awards prizes in the following seven categories:


The 2010 winners will receive a total total of €117,500 in prize money.

  • €20000 – Computer Animation / Film / VFX
  • €20000 – Interactive Art
  • €20000 – Digital Musics & Sound Art
  • €20000 – Hybrid Art
  • €20000 – Digital Communities
  • €9000 – u19 – freestyle computing
  • €7500 – [the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant

Prix Ars Electronica 2010 Prizes

The Prix Ars Electronica 2010 awards presentation will take place on 3 September 2010 during the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz. Winners of Golden Nicas and Awards of Distinction must make a commitment to accepting their awards in person and to presenting their works at the Prix Ars Electronica Forum, an artist symposium to be held September 5-6, 2010. Groups and institutions are requested to nominate a representative to fulfill this commitment. As guests of Ars Electronica, winners will receive complementary economy class airline tickets for their trip to Linz.


  • Employees of the organizers, sponsors and patrons of the Prix Ars Electronica, staff members of organizations that have established and endowed an individual category, as well as the competition’s jurors are ineligible to participate.
  • A work may be entered in only one category.
  • Works can be nominated for prize consideration in the individual competition categories until 5 March 2010. Nominations are recommendations; thus, nominated projects are not automatically entered in the competition. The nominated artists will be contacted by the organizer before the jury convenes. Then, projects must be formally submitted by the artists themselves prior to the entry deadline and in accordance with all competition criteria in order to be entered in the competition.
  • Due to production constraints, the extended deadline for submitting all required materials is 5 March 2010 (date of the postmark).
  • In addition to the general entry rules, special entry rules apply to each individual category.
  • Entrants are requested not to submit irreplaceable originals since submitted materials cannot be returned.
  • Works submitted without the required accompanying material will not be accepted.
  • An entry confirmation will be sent out via e-mail as soon as all required documentation and paperwork has been received.

Prix Ars Electronica 2010 Entry Regulations

How to enter?

Use the online registration form on the official website. There you can input all the information necessary to submit your project, as well upload any accompanying digital material. After completing the registration, please print out a hard-copy of the online form, sign the form, and submit it along with any additional (hard-copy) material needed to support your entry by mail (postmarked no later than 5 March 2010) to:

Ars Electronica Linz GmbH
Ars-Electronica-Straße 1
4040 Linz, Austria
Code: Prix
per fax to +43.732.7272-674

or per Email:

Prix Ars Electronica 2010 Entry Checklist