Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

The Julia Margaret Cameron Award – Second Edition

The Worldwide Photography Gala Awards (WPGA) invites women photographers worldwide to submit images to the Second Edition of The Julia Margaret Cameron Award.

The Julia Margaret Cameron Award is addressed to professional as well as non professional women photographers.

WPGA invites photographers working in all mediums, styles and schools of thought. Traditional, contemporary, avant-garde, creative and experimental works that include old and new processes, mixed techniques, and challenging personal, emotional or political statements are welcome.


The Julia Margaret Cameron Award is addressed to professional and non professional women photographers worldwide, who will compete together with single images and/or portfolios in the following categories:

  • Single Images:
    • Portrait, People and Figure
    • Street photography
    • Nude
    • Self Portrait
    • Wedding
    • Children
    • Documentary and Editorial
    • Architecture and Interiors
    • Landscapes and Citiscapes
    • Nature
    • Fine Art
  • Portfolios:
    • Documentary and Editorial
    • Landscape and Citiscape
    • Fine Art


  • Winners will receive a cash prize of $5,000 and $3,000 each, respectively, and their works will be published in Zoom Magazine during 2011.
  • The winners in each category will receive a diploma from The Julia Margaret Cameron Award as Outstanding Photographic Achievement in her category.
  • The first runner up will be awarded with The Julia Margaret Cameron New Talent Award.
  • In every category Honorable mentions will be awarded at discretion of the Jurors.
  • All awardees, including the honorable mentions of each category will be published in the book “The Julia Margaret Cameron Award 2011″.
  • Awarded works will be exhibited during 2012 in a city and venue to be decided.


  • In Single Image the minimum of images to be submitted is 3.
  • Portfolios should be composed by a minimum of 6 images and a maximum of 12.
  • Any single image or portfolio can be submitted to more than one category, counting as an additional image or portfolio without discount.
  • Submissions as email attachments, on CD, or prints are not allowed in this competition and will not be returned.

How to enter?

Submissions are only accepted via the online process on WPGA official website.

Please visit the official website for specific details about the format of submitted images.

Entry fee

  • Single Images: $40 for the first 3 images; $10 each additional image.
  • Portfolio: $60 the first portfolio; $40 each additional portfolio.