Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

The Manuel Rivera-Ortiz Foundation 2013 Documentary Photography & Film Grants

The Manuel Rivera-Ortiz Foundation for Documentary Photography & Film recently announced an expanded 2013 grant program that now includes an award for short-short documentary filmmaking. In addition to their third annual call for documentary photography submissions, the foundation is now seeking outstanding entries in social documentary film focusing on the lives and populations ravaged by war, famine, disease, poverty, religious persecution, political oppression, forced migration and other human injustices.

One winning submission in each category will be selected by a distinguished jury. The foundation will once again award a $5000 USD grant for the production or completion of a social documentary photography project, and a $5000 USD prize for a completed social documentary film.

The Manuel Rivera-Ortiz Foundation Expands into Documentary Film and Opens 2013 Call for Entries

“The addition of documentary film to our grant programs is a natural progression for the foundation,” says Manuel Rivera-Ortiz, foundation Founder and President. “Expanding beyond still images to moving pictures brings us full circle within the realm of documentary reportage and maximizes our impact on effecting change and social justice through journalistic humanitarianism.”

The 2013 Photography Grant entries must be received by 31 March 2013. Submissions will be evaluated in three rounds. The top twelve entries will be exhibited in July 2013 during Les Rencontres d’Arles, the international photography festival in Arles, France. The grant winner will be selected and announced there by a renowned international jury.

The 2013 film submissions must be received by 31 May 2013. Films must be under 20 minutes in length. The film award will be judged in two rounds with the winner announced in July 2013 in Paris, France.

Submission details and entry rules for both grants can be found on the official website under “Programs.” There is no cost for entering either award category.