Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

The Schindler Global Award (SGA) 2018 Competition

The Schindler Global Award (SGA) 2018/2019 Competition has been announced and scheduled for mid-July 2018, with entries due at the end of January 2019.

With over $100,000 (US) in prizes and a jury of international experts and practitioners, the Schindler Global Award gives the students of today a chance to contribute to the cities of tomorrow, that is Mumbai — for this year’s competition.

The SGA 2018/19 is open to final-year bachelor’s and all master’s degree students of architecture, landscape architecture, urban design and planning, from degree-granting educational institutions worldwide.

As the second largest city in the world, Mumbai presents many challenges, offering participating students the chance to engage with spatial, social and strategic topics. Mumbai requires integrated and sustainable urban systems that make the benefits of the city accessible to all its inhabitants. The megacity is also a benchmark for South Asia and beyond. How it approaches continuing growth and manages development processes is relevant at every scale, from neighborhood to national and global.

The Schindler Global Award (SGA) is a one-of-a-kind urban design competition that encourages students to put their skills to the test.

The 2018/2019 competition is held under the leadership of the Schindler Group, again in collaboration with the ETH Zurich, Chair of Architecture and Urban Design, Professor Kees Christiaanse.