Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Trieste Contemporanea 2016, 12th International Design Contest

Trieste Contemporanea has opened the 12th edition of its international design contest, themed: “Waterline” and is calling for works for 2016.

Designers from twenty-four (24) Central Eastern European countries are called to submit a project of an original item of contemporary design.

For this competition, Trieste Contemporanea will award a total of 9,000 Euro, of which 4,000 Euro are reserved for the winner of the First Prize. Three (3) other prizes will be awarded as well — Beba Prize (1,000 Euro), Trieste Prize (1,000 Euro) & CEI Prize 2016 (3,000 Euro).

All the selected and winning designs will be displayed in a final exhibition, to be held in Trieste in September 2016. The awards ceremony will take place in Trieste at the opening of final exhibition, to which the winning designers will be invited at the organizing Committee’s expense.

For the main theme — Waterline — contestants are asked to make reference to an element/elements of life and work on water which is/are an original and distinctive feature of a place in one of the countries within the purview of the competition, possibly studying a local know-how or exceptional/excellent tradition of that place, and then, using this object of interest as inspiration, to conceive an original item of contemporary design which caters to the latest needs present in the sector.

The Trieste Award theme, on the other hand, asks contestants for original object concepts — for use in the nautical sector — which take inspiration from either a proverb or popular local saying tied to marine practice or to the more general relation of man with the sea.

Each contestant can enter only a single project, unless entering one for the general theme of the competition and a separate one for the Trieste Award’s dedicated theme.

Entry is open to all designers born in CEI member states (Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Serbia, Slovenia and Ukraine) in compliance with its stated purposes, and to designers born in Estonia, Germany, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania and Turkey as well.

The contest is promoted by the Trieste Contemporanea Committee and is supported by the Regione Autonoma Friuli Venezia Giulia and the Central European Initiative (CEI).