Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

22nd Japan Media Arts Festival – Call for Entries

The Japan Media Arts Festival Executive Committee is now accepting entries for the 22nd Japan Media Arts Festival.

All artists around the world, without distinction as to professional, amateur, independent, or commercial, are invited to submit their works to the four divisions: Art, Entertainment, Animation, and Manga of the Festival.

From each division, the jury committee will select winners of the Grand Prizes, Excellence Awards, and New Face Awards. Each of the winners from the four divisions will receive a trophy and prize money up to 1,000,000 Yen, and also win an opportunity to present their works at the Exhibition of Award-winning Works in Tokyo in June 2019.

All awards including Special Achievement Awards and Jury Selections will be announced in March 2019.

Eligible works are to be completed or exhibited within a year before the deadline (6 October 2017 – 5 October 2018).

The Japan Media Arts Festival is a comprehensive festival of Media Arts (Media Geijutsu in Japanese) that honors outstanding works from a diverse range of media – from animation and comics to media art and games. The festival gives awards in each of its four divisions: Art, Entertainment, Animation, and Manga. It also provides a platform for appreciation of the award-winning and other notable works. Since its inception in 1997, the festival has recognized significant works of high artistry and creativity, and in addition to a yearly Exhibition of Award-Winning Works, has held other events, such as symposiums, screenings, and showcases.

The 21st Festival received 4,192 entries from 98 countries and regions around the world, demonstrating continuing evolution as an established annual international festival.

The schedule and the venue of the 22nd Japan Media Arts Festival are yet to be announced.

For additional information, visit the official website.