Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Amnesty International Media Awards 2014 Competition

The 2014 Amnesty International Media Awards have recently been announced and the competition has been scheduled for 1st June 2014 through 31st July 2014. The Awards celebrate the breadth and quality of human rights reporting across the media – including broadcast, digital and print.

Last year there were eleven (11) categories in the awards, recognizing newspaper, magazine, radio, TV, digital and student journalism with each judged by an independent panel.

In selecting the winning entries, the judges take into account:

  • Quality of writing, filming or photography and depth and quality of research
  • Currency or news value
  • Accessibility or appropriateness for the target audience
  • Exposure of human rights abuses or how the story was brought to a new audience
  • Whether and how the debate on human rights is carried forward or new and emerging issues highlighted
  • Whether and how victims are given a voice and human stories behind the headlines are brought to the fore
  • Innovation and creativity in getting the message across
  • Commitment to a long running human rights issue
  • Impact of the piece on the audience, government or other influential bodies

All submitted entries in the 2014 competition must have been published or broadcast between 1 March 2013 and 31 July 2014.

Established in 1992, over the past two decades the Amnesty International Media Awards have grown in prestige, recognizing excellence in human rights reporting and acknowledging journalism’s significant contribution to raising public awareness of human rights issues.