Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

National Geographic 2017 Nature Photographer of the Year Contest

The 2017 National Geographic Nature Photographer of the Year contest is now accepting submissions — spectacular pictures that tell the story of animals, lands, and environments around the world.

The grand-prize winner for 2017 will receive $7,500. Their winning image will be published in an upcoming issue of National Geographic magazine and featured on the @NatGeo Instagram account. Each category winner will receive $2,500.

The four contest categories are: wildlife, landscapes, aerials, and underwater.

Submissions must have been taken within two (2) years before the date of entry and may not previously have won an award in any National Geographic contest.

The National Geographic 2017 Nature Photographer of the Year Contest is open only to individuals who have reached the age of majority in their jurisdiction of residence at the time of entry and who reside in the United States, its territories (excluding Puerto Rico) and the District of Columbia, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Canada (excluding Quebec), China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, and the United Kingdom.

Winners will be announced on the official website on or about 12 December 2017.

National Geographic 2017 Nature Photographer of the Year Contest Entry Fee

The entry fee is US$15 per entry.