Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Sony World Photography Awards 2011

The 2011 Sony World Photography Awards are now open for entries.

With categories for both professional and amateur photographers, the Sony World Photography Awards is one of the world’s largest photographic events. The 2010 competition attracted over 80,000 entrants from 148 countries.

For the 2011 Sony World Photography Awards, the World Photography Organisation announces a new competition and additional categories.


Submit your entries to the official categories.

The Open competition, which replaces the amateur competition, has been created for the growing number of people with a love of photography. It has eleven categories including Nature & Wildlife, Travel and After Dark, and is judged on a single image.

Open competition categories:

  • Action
  • After Dark
  • Architecture
  • Arts & Culture
  • Fashion
  • Panoramic
  • Nature & Wildlife
  • People
  • Travel
  • Smile

Professional and “serious enthusiast” photographers are invited to join the Professional competition and will be judged on a body of work. The 14 professional categories are arranged into three genres – Commercial, Fine Art and Photojournalism & Documentary – and new categories include Lifestyle, Still Life, and People.

Professional competition categories:

  • Commercial – photography that has primarily been commissioned for commercial intent, the purpose of which is to sell products or services
    • Travel
    • Lifestyle
    • Still Life
    • Fashion
  • Fine Art – photographs that are created in accordance with the creative vision of the photographer as an artist
    • Architecture
    • Portraiture
    • Landscape
    • Still Life
    • Conceptual
  • Photojournalism & Documentary – the creation of imagery to tell a story; from capturing current news and global issues, chronicling historical and worldwide events and popular culture
    • Current Affairs
    • Contemporary Issues
    • People
    • Arts & Culture
    • Sport


Winners of the Professional and Open categories will each receive their trophies at the Sony World Photography Awards ceremony in London on 27 April 2011.

The winner of the L’Iris d’Or / Sony World Photographer of the Year will also be revealed and will be presented with $25,000 (USD) plus Sony’s Alpha digital SLR camera equipment.

The overall Open competition winner will receive $5,000 plus Sony’s Alpha digital SLR camera equipment.

A shortlist of up to ten photographers from each category will be selected and announced in February 2011.


  • This is an international competition.
  • The competition is free to enter and all images submitted must have been shot in 2010.
  • Photographers may enter either the Professional or Open competition, it is not possible to enter both.

How to enter?

Register on the official website and submit your entries in the proper competition and category.