Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

ZEISS Photography Award 2020 Competition

The World Photography Organisation and ZEISS announce the brief and call for entry for the 2020 ZEISS Photography Award.

The ZEISS Photography Award is an international photography competition that challenges photographic artists to submit bodies of work responding to a selected theme. The theme for the fifth edition of the Award is “Seeing Beyond – Discoveries”.

The 2020 winner will receive €12,000 worth of ZEISS lenses, €3,000 ​to cover travel costs for a photography project and the opportunity to personally work with ZEISS and the World Photography Organisation. The 2020 ZEISS Photography Award winner will be rewarded at the 2020 Sony World Photography Awards grand ceremony on 16 April 2020 in London.

The winning images and shortlisted works will be exhibited at the spectacular Somerset House in London from 17 April – 4 May 2020. ZEISS will also invite the winner to the company headquarters in Germany, where they will get a peek behind the scenes of the ZEISS world.

Photographers entering the competition are asked to enter five to ten strong images that align with the narrative of discovery.

The theme “Seeing Beyond – Discoveries” tests photographers to use their camera as a tool to explore and question the world. Throughout time the human race has thrived on making discoveries, whether it be a personal revelation, a scientific and technological breakthrough, or an idea that has led to social change. The ZEISS Photography Award provides the opportunity for artists to put a spotlight on these new, unseen discoveries in life.

All submissions must be accompanied by a supporting statement outlining the story behind the body of work.

A total of ​57,894 images by ​8,352 photographers from 150 ​countries and territories ​were submitted to the 2019 ZEISS Photography Award.