Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

15th International Design Contest Trieste Contemporanea

The Trieste Contemporanea Committee is pleased to announce the 15th edition of the International Design Contest with the aim of showcasing the most original contemporary design offerings from the countries of Central Eastern Europe.

The competition is a biennial event established in 1995 by the Italian scholar of aesthetics and design Gillo Dorfles.

The 15th edition of the contest runs in unison with the EU Slovenia-Italy cross-border project for Nova Gorica and Gorizia, designated European Capital of Culture (ECoC) in 2025. In preparing the ECoC event, organising bodies from the two cities (which form one continuous urban area on the border) declare to “share the same commitment: being the European Capital of Borderless Culture”.

So, the competition is an initiative towards the “GO! 2025 – Nova Gorica and Gorizia European Capital of Culture 2025” event, and produced by the Trieste Contemporanea Committee with the support of the Regione Autonoma Friuli Venezia Giulia.

This edition of the competition seeks a potentially iconic item of street furniture that could represent symbolic meanings linked to historical location of Nova Gorica/Gorizia, and the sharing of cultural values.

The contestant should design a seating installation (e.g. a bench) with the above concept and sentiments and of course for resting, viewing the panorama and socializing. The object of the study could possibly be placed both in the city of Nova Gorica and in that of Gorizia (at least two places inthe two cities have to be foreseen in the project) and embody the ideal union of the two cities during GO! 2025 event, as well as future testimony to this ECoC 2025 and its values.

Participation in the competition is free. There is no age limit.

Individuals and groups can participate in the competition. The competition is open to designers born in CEI member states (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Serbia, Slovenia and Ukraine).