Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Europa Nostra Awards 2017 – Call for Entries

The call for entries for 2017 is now open for the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards – Europe’s most prestigious prize in the heritage field.

Every year, the most outstanding heritage achievements from all over Europe are honored. The Prize recognizes the excellence and dedication by architects, craftsmen, cultural heritage experts, volunteers, schools, local communities, heritage owners and the media. It stimulates creativity and innovation, through the power of example.

In 2017, the Awards will be given to up to 30 remarkable heritage projects and initiatives in four categories. Up to seven will be selected as Grand Prix winners and receive 10,000 Euro each. One will get the Public Choice Award.

Entries may be submitted from the countries that take part in the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission.

The competition includes the following categories:

  • Conservation
  • Research
  • Dedicated Service by Individuals or Organizations
  • Education, Training and Awareness-raising

Criteria for the assessment of entries include excellence in the work executed and preliminary research conducted, as well as respect for artistic, cultural and social value, setting, authenticity and integrity.

Special attention is paid to sustainability, interpretation and presentation, educational work, funding and management, social responsibility, and audience development. Entries can be on a scale ranging from small to large, local to international, and should display a standard of work considered outstanding in a European context.