Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives.

GIRAF 10 International Festival of Independent Animation

The 10th GIRAF International Festival of Independent Animation has recently announced the Call for Submissions and is currently accepting entries for its 2014 edition.

GIRAF is looking for Animation submissions, in all styles, genres, lengths, and mediums and is dedicated to presenting independent animations that push boundaries through new techniques, unique visions, and stimulating subject matter.

The Festival programs are a strong eclectic mix of animation, representing the best of the medium from Claymation to CG.

Entries selected for GIRAF will receive artist fees following the fee schedule established by the Independent Media Arts Alliance (IMAA/AAMI). In addition, short submissions are eligible for four (4) awards in the following categories:

  • Best of Canada,
  • Most Innovative Animation,
  • Best International Short Animation Awards (Juried), &
  • Audience Favorite Short Animation Award.

Submitted animations must be independently produced (not by major studios), with the director retaining complete editorial control.

The GIRAF 10 Fesitval is scheduled for November 2014.