Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Morisawa Type Design Competition 2019

The call for entries for the Morisawa Type Design Competition 2019 (#MOTC19) has been announced. Submission period starts 1 November 2018.

The competition is open to any individual, group or nationality.

Almost $50,000 will be awarded in sub-prize money in 2019. The Gold Prize (Morisawa Award) for 2019 is 1,000,000 Japanese Yen (almost $9,000) and it will be awarded for both competition categories.

The award categories for 2019 are:

  • Morisawa Award — for typeface designs with creativity and aesthetic excellence of designs for two categories, Kanji and Latin. Designers and experts who lead each field will join as new judge members and will evaluate works.
  • People’s Choice — for the general public’s vote for a favorite entry work.
  • Akashi Award — for “variable fonts” which is implemented in the OpenType specification. The judges will comprehensively evaluate whether your work is new or progressive as a variable font.

Morisawa Type Design Competition has been giving birth to new typeface designs for decades since the first competition held in 1984. Through entries with bold ideas and new attempts in anticipation with unprecedented expressive capacity, the last competition in 2016 received more than 700 entries from 49 countries and regions, including both Kanji and Latin categories.

There is no limit to the number of submissions per entrant.