Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Sony World Photography Awards 2023

The World Photography Organisation has opened entries for the 2023 Sony World Photography Awards, the world’s most diverse photography competition.

Now in its 16th year, the Sony World Photography Awards is the leading competition for photographers and artists working in photography. The Awards is regarded as one of the world’s most prestigious photography competitions by elevating photographers’ careers – from established to emerging – since it started 16 years ago.

Made up of four competitions (Professional, Open, Student and Youth), all entries are free and the top prize is $25,000.

Produced by the World Photography Organisation, the internationally acclaimed Sony World Photography Awards is one of the most important fixtures in the global photographic calendar. Sony supports the Awards to help the continued development of photographic culture by giving a global platform to today’s talent. Entry to the Awards is completely free and photographers are judged anonymously by a panel of industry leading judges.

All category winners of the Professional, Open, Youth and Student competitions will receive digital imaging equipment from Sony. In addition, cash prizes of $25,000 (USD) will be presented to the Photographer of the Year and $5,000 (USD) to the Open Photographer of the Year. All winning and shortlisted photographers’ works will be exhibited at the annual Sony World Photography Awards exhibition in London and will then be toured internationally. The winning images will also be published in the annual Awards book.

For both established and emerging artists, the Awards offer world-class opportunities for exposure of their work.

Important Deadlines

  • 30 November 2022 13:00 (GMT) – Student competition closes
  • 6 January 2023 13:00 (GMT) – Youth competition closes
  • 6 January 2023 13:00 (GMT) – Open competition (including National & Regional Awards, Latin America National Awards and Alpha Female Award) closes
  • 13 January, 2023 13:00 (GMT) – Professional competition (including Latin America Professional Award) closes