Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

The 2010 International Aperture Awards Competition

The 2010 International Aperture Awards competition is a photography competition open to professional and non-professional photographers worldwide.

This year’s International Aperture Awards competition gives you a chance to win a brand new Nikon D5000 with additional lenses in the amateur’s category.

The 2010 prize pool is still being finalised. This year the International Aperture Awards competition is expected to have a combined prize pool of over $80,000 in cash and prizes.


Submit photo entries in the following categories:

  • Open Categories
    • People and Portrait
    • Sport
    • Landscape
    • Science and Nature
    • Commercial, Advertising & Fashion
    • Abstract/Illustrative
    • Photo Journalism/Press
    • Wedding
  • Amateur Categories
    • People and Portrait
    • Landscape
    • Abstract/Illustrative


Each of the 8 Open Categories have the following prize money on offer. The Top 5 placing images per category move forward to the final judging round. The winner of the final judging round is awarded the US $20,000 major cash prize.

  • 1st US $1,000
  • 2nd US $500
  • 3rd US $250
  • 4th US $150
  • 5th US $100

The Major Amateur prize of 2010 is a Nikon D5000 DSLR with 18-55mm and 55-200mm VR Lenses valued at $1,500 RRP and a GigaPan EPIC PRO valued at $1,495 RRP.


  • The International Aperture Awards competition is open to all photographers.
  • The Open Awards can be entered by professional and non professional photographers and will be judged by industry professionals.
  • The Amateur Awards is open to non-professional and student photographers.

How to enter?

Submit your entries on the official website through the online entry form.

Entry fee

  • Open Competition: US $35
  • Amateur Competition: US $15