Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Think Space 2012 – PAST FORWARD

Zagreb Society of Architects is pleased to announce the launch of the new Think Space 2012 cycle with its annual theme PAST FORWARD.

The Think Space program aims to bring together world renown and established figures with emerging voices (professionals and students) within the fields of architecture, landscape, design, the arts and the humanities. The annual cycle consist of series conceptual architectural competitions and the awarding event and exhibitions organized at the end of the cycle.

The first iteration – Think Space 2011 – BORDERS cycle finished with 537 participants, architects of younger generation, from 65 countries.

The Think Space 2012 Competitive Programme is Open for Submissions!

Think Space 2012 – PAST FORWARD cycle devised by this year’s guest curator Adrian Lahoud, a former winner in the 2011 Borders Cycle, aims to repeat three competitions that radically transformed architectural culture: The Peak (1982), Yokohama Port Terminal (1995), and Blur Building (1999), with participating architects in the original competition acting as jurors in the current one: Zaha Hadid & Patrik Schumacher (jurors for The Peak), Alejandro Zaera-Polo (juror for Yokohama Port Terminal) and Ricardo Scofidio & Charles Renfro (juror for the Blur Building).

You are invited to participate in the competitions and explore together with the jurors, guest curators and other professionals from all over the world, how much have the last 30 years influenced the disciplinary transformation, looking back in order to discern how far we have moved and in what direction.

At the conclusion of the competition, a conference in Zagreb, Croatia will bring together participating architects from both cycles. At the end of the competition phase, a further series of events will be organized including a series of international exhibitions that will display the original submissions alongside the winning competition entries from this Think Space cycle. Storefront for Art and Architecture will host the New York exhibition, with more events to be confirmed shortly.

Three main prizes will be awarded in this year’s competitive programme:

  • 1st Award: 5,000 EUR
  • 2ndAward: 1,000 EUR
  • 3rd Award: 500 EUR

Think Space was launched in December 2010.

For more info about the competitions, please visit the official website – usually, linked below.

Entry Fee

  • Early registration fee: from 5 May to 26 June 2012 – 370 HRK / 50 EUR
  • Full registration fee: from 27 June to 17 July 2012 – 555 HRK / 75 EUR