Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Prix Ars Electronica 2011 – Digital Media Creativity Award

The Prix Ars Electronica is one of the most important awards for creativity and pioneering spirit in the field of digital media.

The event calls for entries in seven categories, including a youth competition. And since internationally renowned artists from over 70 countries also participate in the Prix Ars Electronica, it has established itself as a barometer for trends in contemporary media art.

Since 1987, the Prix Ars Electronica has served as an interdisciplinary platform for everyone who uses the computer as a universal medium for implementing and designing their creative projects at the interface of art, technology and society.


The Prix Ars Electronica calls for entries and awards prizes in the following categories:

  • Computer Animation / Film / VFX
  • Interactive Art
  • Digital Musics & Sound Art
  • Hybrid Art
  • Digital Communities
  • u19 – freestyle computing
  • [the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant


The Prix Ars Electronica 2011 awards presentation will take place during the Ars Electronica Festival 2011 in Linz.

The 2011 winners will receive a total of €117,500 in prizes.

  • Computer Animation / Film / VFX: €20,000
  • Interactive Art: €20,000
  • Digital Musics & Sound Art: €20,000
  • Hybrid Art: €20,000
  • Digital Communities: €20,000
  • u19 – freestyle computing: €9,000
  • [the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant: €7,500

Honorary mentions will be given in all 7 categories.


  • The Prix Ars Electronica is an international competition.
  • Entrants are requested not to submit irreplaceable originals since submitted materials cannot be returned.
  • In addition to the general entry details and rules, special entry rules apply to each individual category (see category descriptions).
  • A work may be entered in only one category.
  • An artist may submit more than one work.

How to enter?

To participate in the Prix Ars Electronica, you must register online and submit all mandatory information online.