Contest Watchers Search Form
Basic Search Controls
Matching Search Filters
Category Search Filters
By Status
By Discipline
By Other Filters
Additional Controls
Currently browsing through the Contest Watchers archives

Non Architecture Award for Unbuilt Projects

Non Architecture launches an award to honour those projects that didn’t take that approach and are unbuilt and unbuildable, either because they were designed to stay as such, or because their innovative charge brought them into the realm of the unpractical.

Construction is the most obvious reward for an architectural project, but very often in order to make things buildable, architects have to sacrifice innovation and creativity and surrender to business as usual.

Non Architecture will award 1 winner and 9 honourable mentions for each of the 4 categories, selected by the jurors collectively.

The competition categories include:

  • Urban — any urban or master plan dedicated to the long-term connections between buildings, infrastructure, social and economic conditions, environments, and future development
  • Landscape — gardens, parks or projects that more extensively or subtly address nature, and as such
  • Architecture — residential, commercial, cultural, hospitality, institutional, sports & recreation, transportation, or temporary structures
  • Aspatial — abstract and conceptual ideas with no physical representation such as utopian projects, projects for digital platforms, tools or devices, process-oriented projects, participatory process or even gaming and digital simulations

By recognizing remarkable achievements in architecture, the organizers intend to highlight exemplary projects that serve as inspiration for practitioners. Equally important, these awards elevate the potential for positive impact that an exploratory approach in architecture has on the future of the profession.

The award is open for student works, conceptual designs, competition entries, research & speculative initiatives of all sorts.

Projects can have an exploratory or critical purpose, as long as they were not designed with the primary goal of being built.

The registration fee is paid per project, separately for each category, regardless of how many people participated in the design.

Non Architecture Award for Unbuilt Projects – Registration Fees

  • 16 – 31 July, 2021 – Special registration period: 10€
  • 01 – 20 August, 2021 – Early registration period: 15€
  • 21 August – 10 September, 2021 – Regular registration period: 20€
  • 11 – 31 October, 2021 – Late registration period: 25€